Any idea?

I tweeted something the other day and I thought that it would be worth expanding (it was also time I dusted off my blog and started writing again).

I have heard this a lot lately and wanted to know if there is really no such thing as a new idea. I have heard people say that most ideas now days are old ideas just done again or in a slightly different way. I do agree with this; especially in the advertising world you can see when one advert has been inspired by another.

The question that I want to ask is this: Is there no such thing as a new idea?

I do not think so. I just think that it is just far easier for us to poach someone else’s idea rather than to think of something ourselves. I am sure that a lot of people will probably say “why reinvent the wheel?” but what if the wheel could be reinvented and made better? Wouldn’t that be amazing?

Why should we accept what we have without challenging the way things are done first?

Here is my “formula” for new ideas:

1 part madness + 1 part guts = innovation (new idea)

If you think about it, every great invention we have today was probably first met with “thats crazy” or “it will never work” until that person found the guts to do it anyway and proved everyone wrong. With every problem you face, think until you come up with that statement “wouldn’t it be great if…” or “imagine how cool it would be if…” these are your mad ideas. Find a way to make that “impossible” thing possible. Stop making excuses for why it will not work and find reasons it will.

Maybe you wont have an Einstein moment that time, but at least you tried.

So go a little mad today, you never know what you might come up with…

Leave a Reply

